Skip to main content

OSHRCOccupational Safety & Health Review Commission

Current Commissioners

Thomasina V. Rogers

Image: Thomasina RogersThomasina Rogers is the Chairman of the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission, an independent adjudicatory agency in the executive branch of the federal government.  The Review Commission adjudicates contests involving the Department of Labor, employers cited for violations of the Occupational Safety and Health Act, and employees and/or their representatives.  She was first appointed to the Review Commission in 1998 as a Commissioner and previously served as its Chairman from June 1999 to September 2002.

For over 20 years, Chairman Rogers has served at the highest levels of the United States government. Prior to the Review Commission, she led the Administrative Conference of the United States, often described as an administrative law think tank, in bringing together public and private sector members in a bipartisan effort to improve the operation and administration of government.  During her tenure as chairman of the Administrative Conference of the United States, she continued to advance its leadership role in the implementation of alternative dispute resolution in the federal sector.

Chairman Rogers has also headed the Office of Legal Counsel, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC).  In that role, she managed the development and promulgation of the employment regulations implementing the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.  As a result of her work at the EEOC, the President conferred on her the rank of Meritorious Executive in the Senior Executive Service.

After receiving her undergraduate degree in journalism from Northwestern University, Chairman Rogers received her law degree from Columbia University School of Law.

She has served as a trustee on numerous boards, including those of the Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, D.C. and the American Arbitration Association.


Cynthia L. Attwood

Image: Cynthia L. AttwoodCommissioner Cynthia L. Attwood was first appointed by President Barack Obama and confirmed by the Senate in 2010 to fill a term that expired on April 27, 2013. She was reappointed by the President with Senate confirmation in August 2013 to fill a term that expires in April 2019.

Prior to her appointment to the Commission, Ms. Attwood spent 30 years in the Federal government as a lawyer and judge. She served for three years as an Administrative Appeals Judge on the Department of Labor’s Administrative Review Board adjudicating appeals brought under many labor laws and regulations. She also served in the Senior Executive Service at DOL for over ten years, as Associate Solicitor for Occupational Safety and Health, and before that as Associate Solicitor for Mine Safety and Health. As a result of her work at the Department of Labor the President awarded her the rank of Meritorious Executive in the Senior Executive Service. Prior to her service at DOL, Ms. Attwood began her legal career as an appellate attorney in the Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division, where she litigated cases before the Supreme Court and the United States Courts of Appeals.

A native of Oak Park, Illinois, Ms. Attwood holds a B.A. degree from Oakland University and a J.D. degree from the University of Minnesota, where she served on the Law Review and was awarded membership in the Order of the Coif.


Heather L. MacDougall

Image: Cynthia L. AttwoodHeather L. MacDougall was sworn in as a Commissioner of the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission on April 2, 2014 for a term that expires on April 27, 2017. Ms. MacDougall was nominated by President Barack Obama on November 21, 2013 and was confirmed by the Senate on March 12, 2014.

Prior to her appointment to the Commission, over the past twenty years, Ms. MacDougall has represented employers throughout the U.S. with regard to matters involving labor, employment, and occupational safety and health law, most recently with Akerman LLP in West Palm Beach, Florida. In addition, she previously served as Chief Legal Counsel & Special Advisor to Chairman W. Scott Railton of the Occupational Safety & Health Review Commission.

Ms. MacDougall received a B.A. from the University of Wisconsin and a J.D. from Marquette University Law School.