Cynthia L. Attwood Sworn In As Review Commission Chair

Cynthia L. Attwood Sworn In As Review Commission Chair

Cynthia L. Attwood was designated Chair of the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission by President Joseph R. Biden, Jr., on January 20, 2021. Her swearing-in marks a return to the position, having previously served as the agency's Acting Chair and Chair from 2015 to 2017. She was first appointed to the Review Commission by President Barack Obama in 2010 and was reappointed by President Obama in 2013. She was appointed to a third term by President Donald J. Trump in 2020.

"I am extremely honored that President Biden has designated me to serve as Chair of the Review Commission. Congress enacted the Occupational Safety and Health Act 'to assure as far as possible every working man and woman in the Nation safe and healthful working conditions' And it created the Commission, a small agency with a significant role under the Act, to fairly and expeditiously adjudicate contests involving the Department of Labor, employers cited for violations of the Act, and employees and/or their representatives. At the Commission we take our responsibility seriously. Having worked here for almost eleven years, I can say that our staff is entirely committed to our mission, and I am pleased to be given another opportunity to encourage and support them all in their continuing efforts."

Prior to joining the Commission, Ms. Attwood served in the United States Department of Labor as Associate Solicitor for Occupational Safety and Health and as Associate Solicitor for Mine Safety and Health. She spent her early years of federal service in the Civil Rights Division of the United States Department of Justice, where she litigated cases before the Supreme Court of the United States and the United States Courts of Appeals.

A native of Oak Park, Illinois, Ms. Attwood holds a B.A. degree from Oakland University and a J.D. degree from the University of Minnesota, where she graduated magna cum laude, served on the Law Review, and was awarded membership in the Order of the Coif.